Tags

, , , , ,

I am a tad miffed today.

I woke with a cool breeze blowing through the window, it was beautiful and I could breathe clean fresh air as opposed to the steam or recycled air con air that I have been inhaling for the past three months. That was a good start to my day.

I make my morning cuppa: 2 tablespoons of organic cider vinegar, 1 teaspoon of honey, a green tea bag. Then my breakfast: Porridge oats made with water, a tablespoon of Pekmez, chunks of fresh apple, pear, nectarine (this varies according to what’s in the fridge) all topped off with a sprinkling of linseeds. The day is still a good one.

I log on, check my emails, make a few updates to our websites, and then log onto Facebook.  The day takes a little swerve.

The powers that be at Facebook, have made some changes to the way the site works and all hell has broken loose. People are up in arms about it and all I can see from my friends all over the world are status moans about it. The day dips a tad.

I have to say I am amazed at the reaction. Facebook does not belong to its members does it? Facebook is a social networking site that allows us to connect with each other for free. I personally can keep tabs on my son who lives in a different country to me and my family and friends who live in yet another. I can see their photos, learn their news, and congratulate them on their birthdays and anniversaries. It does not cost me anything and I get instant updates. I’ve also made some wonderful new friends on it. These things to me are priceless.

Facebook has indeed made a big difference to how we live our lives these days. Sometimes, it’s not a good thing to get too wrapped up in the cyber life as there is a real life waiting outside the door and we need that one to keep us fit and active but, to have Facebook in our lives is fantastic and yet, it doesn’t cost us a penny.

You may say that the owners of the site are making lots of money from it and I would reply, ‘good on em, why shouldn’t they’. Let’s not begrudge them anything after what they have done for us.

So, they have made some upgrades to their own site and some people don’t like it?  We can adapt can’t we? As human beings that’s one of the things we do so well so let’s not be ungrateful eh.

Progress is progress and things change, that is the nature of life. We can either learn or leave, its our choice.

Sorry to share my miff with you but now it’s off my chest I feel better!

From me to Facebook, thank you very much and I wish you all the best with your success and your bank balance. If however, at any point you make changes that I really cannot live with, I will leave the site and be grateful for the experience.

PS: I remember phone boxes, the postal service, photo developing and DOS based systems!

