Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Painting by Janice Mason

Painting by Janice Mason

When I was a little girl, fairies would dance at the bottom of my bed. They shimmered like gold dust caught in the sunlight. I would watch them dance; their wings flutter.

When I was a little girl, I remember hiding under the kitchen table one stormy night while aunts giggled and played Ouija board on the surface above me. They soon scurried away screaming when a clap of thunder scared the life out of them.

When I was a little girl, I remember hanging over the banisters trying to hear what the medium was saying to my grandparents.

There are many more tales I could tell you, but then we would stray off course. I am only telling you this much so that you understand I have an open mind. I embrace my spiritual side while keeping a healthy dose of common sense.

I believe that Mother Nature provided us with everything we need to stay well. We just need to know where to look. I have a head full of remedies that I carried from childhood; I’m sure everyone from my generation can say the same. Old wives tales they call them….. Old wives tales that have since been proven to work.

My beloved Nan Ellen was not a well woman; struck down with rheumatoid arthritis and confined to a wheelchair in her late twenties. This is how I come to see an avocado before the rest of the East End knew they existed.  If there was a chance something would make her well, my Granddad would have moved heaven and earth to get it for her.  There were always strange and exciting things or people in our house. They used to say it was me that gave her an extra thirteen years of life. Apparently, when I came along, I gave her a reason to live.  I wish she had stayed longer.

I’m sure, if it were this day and age, her suffering would have been lessened by the advances in medicine and therapies and that brings us to the point of this blog. What was once alternative therapy is now complimentary therapy and is recognised worldwide even though the ancients already knew about it. How did we get so lost for so long?

I believe that some people are born to be healers. Whether they take up the traditional route and enjoy the respectable title of doctor or, fly in the face of convention and opt for the spiritual side of lotions, potions and the laying on of hands. These things are much more socially acceptable than they used to be. There is no longer a need to skulk in the shadows, in fact, it’s positively fashionable and highly sort after.  This of course has its own down side as people can train for these things but, unless they have a natural gift, well, it’s a bit hit and miss if you ask me.

A few days ago I saw a post on Facebook from a woman offering her Reiki services. I broke out into a big grin and thought, about time we had some spiritual healers here. Don’t get me wrong, I love Doctor Bulent and his magic drips but, there’s a time and a place for everything.

I made contact with Janice and made an appointment.

Today, I chucked a rucksack on my back and took a leisurely walk in the sunshine to her house.  She opens the door with an open face and a great smile. It’s welcoming.  We sit in her therapy room, a calming cream space with a few simple contrasting colours in the form of crystals and art that you want to stare at.  Relaxing music plays in the background as we chat easily about her therapy before we begin.  When I lay down on the bed, she tells me to go to some place nice in my head. As someone that practices meditation (sometimes), I take myself straight to my favourite place…the forest. My love of trees should be well documented by now.

I have had Reiki before; a long time ago. It was nice and relaxing but this is different. I am still relaxed…melty in fact (is that a word? It is now ok) but something else is going on here. I stop dancing in the woods and pay attention to what I’m feeling.  I can feel heat. It draws my skin. I can physically feel an energy pulling those niggling aches and pains away from me.

I couldn’t tell you how long Janice worked her magic but I can tell you I did not want it to end.  There were a couple of times when I drifted and a couple of times I jumped awake but still, I didn’t open my eyes. There were also a time when I felt like I was floating – like I was no longer connected to the surface below me.

When she finished, she left the room for a few minutes. I felt so relaxed that I had to double check I still had limbs. Coming round, I could feel an incredible sense of inner peace and I just sat there smiling until she returned.

When I left her house, I could have danced down the road. I felt amazing then and I still do now.

Today I met a natural healer and she has a wonderful gift. I don’t know whether she knows it or not, but I do.

Her Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/groups/589625401100634/

